Summer reading & reviewing challenge

Hooked on NZ Books He Ao Ano summer reading & reviewing challenge

Hooked on NZ Books recently asked readers to nominate their favourite NZ Young Adult titles. Lots of you did – both young and old adults.

Prizes have been posted out to four names picked at random from the people who nominated a favourite book for the Top Ten. The winners are:

  • Nicola Pike of Taumaranui, who nominated Sherryl Jordan’s  Winter of Fire
  • Zane Fookes of Auckland, who nominated Into the River by Ted Dawe
  • Paul Gilbert of Waikanae, who nominated Genesis by Bernard Beckett
  • And Erin Nicol, who nominated  Spark by Rachael Craw.

Here’s a new challenge for you!

Over this summer, we challenge you to read as many of these titles as you can, and to review them for the website if you want to. The only condition is that each review should follow the guidelines on the site: be at least 500 words long (though you could talk about more than one book in the same review), and that you should be aged 13-18.

Some of these titles are recent, others much older. Hunt around in your library!

The Top Ten Books

1. Stray/Spark/Shield (trilogy) by Rachael Craw (Walker Books, 2014/2015/2016)

2. Dreamhunter/Dreamquake (duet) by Elizabeth Knox (Fourth Estate, 2005/2007, available on Amazon but out of print in NZ)

3. Devolve the Wolf by Mike Hooper (Self-published, 2016)

4. Singing Home the Whale by Mandy Hager (Penguin, 2014)

5. (Joint)
I Am Not Esther by Fleur Beale (Random House, 1998)
The 10pm Question by Kate de Goldi (Penguin, 2008)
Mortal Fire by Elizabeth Knox (Gecko Press, 2013)
Evie’s War by Anna Mackenzie   (Random House, 2015)

6.  The Changeover by Margaret Mahy (1984, to be republished early 2017 ahead of movie release)

7.  Like Nobody’s Watching by L J Ritchie (Escalator Press, 2016)


The runners up  

We’d also love to receive reviews of these titles:

Salt by Maurice Gee (2010)

Genesis by Bernard Beckett (2006)

The Catalogue of the Universe by Margaret Mahy (1985)

The Half men of O trilogy by Maurice Gee (1982/1984/1985)

The Raging Quiet by Sherryl Jordan (1999)

Minotaur by Philip Simpson (2015)

Into the river by Ted Dawe (2013)

Winter of Fire by Sherryl Jordan (1993)


Back to Top